web analytics

Review ❤️ Death of a Bachelorette by Laura Levine

June 27, 2017

Freelance writer Jaine Austen thought working for a knock-off reality show in the tropics would be paradise. But when she and her kitty Prozac find themselves trapped between a dimwitted leading man, catty contestants, and a cold-blooded murderer, the splashy gig becomes one deadly nightmare…

Jaine’s life has been a royal pain since she started penning dialogue for Some Day My Prince Will Come—a cheesy dating show that features bachelorettes competing for the heart of Spencer Dalworth VII, a very distant heir to the British throne. As if fending off golf ball-sized bugs on a sweltering island wasn’t tough enough, Jaine must test her patience against an irritable production crew and fierce contestants who will do anything to get their prince…

But Jaine never expected murder to enter the script. When one of the finalists dies in a freak accident, it’s clear someone wanted the woman out of the race for good—and the police won’t allow a soul off the island until they seize the culprit. Terrified of existing another day without air conditioning and eager to return home, Jaine is throwing herself into the investigation. And she better pounce on clues quickly—or there won’t be any survivors left…


Release Date: Jun 27, 2017
Series: A Jaine Austen Mystery
Book: 15
Publisher: Kensington
Price: $11.99


 

Freelance writer Jaine Austen thinks she has finally found the ideal writing gig when she’s hired to write dialogue for a reality dating show being filmed on a tropical island. In addition to getting paid for her work, her expenses will be fully covered, and she even gets to take along her best friend – her cat, Prozac. Jaine soon learns her accommodations are far from paradise, with no air conditioning and giant bugs in her room and meager portions of terrible food at mealtime. Just when Jaine thinks things couldn’t get any worse, one of the contestants is killed and the local police say nobody can leave the island until the murderer is found. That’s when Jaine takes it upon herself to do her own investigating to make sure justice is served and to get back home as soon as possible.

I enjoy all types of mysteries ranging from serious police procedurals, scary thrillers, as well as lighter cozies. However, when I’m looking for a well-written, entertaining cozy that can keep me laughing out loud throughout the book, Laura Levine is my first choice. Levine used to write scripts for sitcoms such as Laverne & Shirley, The Jeffersons, and The Bob Newhart Show, and her comedy-writing experience shines through in her novels. Jaine is always on the search of the perfect job and the perfect boyfriend and somehow her quest always lands her in the most awkward situations in addition to finding herself in the middle of a murder investigation. Having Jaine on the scene of a low-budget dating show provides the perfect opportunity for plenty of mishaps. Jaine is resilient, though, and determined to persevere no matter what. It’s so much fun reading about her investigation, as well as the antics of the reality show. The investigation doesn’t disappoint, either. There are plenty of suspects in the murder of one of the bachelorettes and I was truly surprised by the ending.

All the books in this series can be read as standalones, so don’t worry if you’re new to the series or are reading the books out of order. If you’re looking for a humorous mystery with a plenty of quirky, but believable characters, sit back and relax with the latest Jaine Austen mystery. Fans of Janet Evanovich or Ali Brandon’s Black Cat Bookshop mysteries will enjoy the latest in Lavine’s hilarious series.

~ Christine

Feel Free to Share :)
Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on FacebookEmail to someone

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: