web analytics

Review ❤️ The Trouble With True Love by Laura Lee Guhrke

February 1, 2018
3 Comments

the trouble with true love laura lee guhrke

Dear Lady Truelove,

I am a girl of noble family, but I am painfully shy, especially in my encounters with those of the opposite sex . . .

For Clara Deverill, standing in for the real Lady Truelove means dispensing advice on problems she herself has never managed to overcome. There’s nothing for it but to retreat to a tearoom and hope inspiration strikes between scones. It doesn’t—until Clara overhears a rake waxing eloquent on the art of “honorable” jilting. The cad may look like an Adonis, but he’s about to find himself on the wrong side of Lady Truelove.

Rex Galbraith is an heir with no plans to produce a spare. He flirts with the minimum number of eligible young ladies to humor his matchmaking aunt, but Clara is the first to ever catch his roving eye. When he realizes that Clara—as Lady Truelove—has used his advice as newspaper fodder, he’s infuriated. But when he’s forced into a secret alliance with her, he realizes he’s got a much bigger problem—because Clara is upending everything Rex thought he knew about women—and about himself. . . .


Release Date: Jan 30, 2017
Series: Dear Lady True Love
Book: 2
Heat Level: Sensual
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Books
Price: $5.99


 

This is my first Laura Lee Guhrke novel since, How To Lose A Duke in 10 Days. I’m so happy I decided to pick this author up again.

The second book in Guhrke’s Dear Lady Truelove stories is all about the younger sister, Claire, who has been tasked with managing her family’s paper and writing the column ‘Dear Lady Truelove’. Problem is, Claire has no clue or inspiration to respond to lovelorn letters. In the meantime, that is until she overhears Rex Galbraith giving a friend advice to woo a woman.

This little enemy to lovers turned allies story kept me on my feet. As I read, I had no clue if these two were ever going to solve their problems between Claire’s paper woes, Rex’s money troubles, and a lovelorn couple put on dire straits due to bad advice. Not too mention falling in love, these two seem the most unlikely pair. Claire is a nervous girl in the midst of her first season and not a diamond of the first water. Worse is, she knows it. But, thankfully, Rex is not a complete moron.

“This is not a real courtship,” she said, her lips brushing against his thumb as she spoke, her hands curling into fists against his gray morning coat.  “There is no need for you to pay me compliments.”

There was every need, since it was clear she received precious few of them in the past, but he didn’t debate the point. “Which doesn’t make what I’ve said any less true.”

“I’m not sure I can trust you to tell the truth about anything,” she mumbled against his thumb.

“What if I stop using words altogether, then, hmm?” He slid his thumb under her chin and pushed gently against her jaw, lifting her face. “Words aren’t necessary anyway.”

“They aren’t?” she whispered.

“Not for what I want to say.”

Whoo. *fans self* Guhrke can write some deliciously, tension-filled, desire-brimming prose. Sign me up for more of that and more of Rex. Both hero and heroine hold a tender spot in my heart. One because the hero is a bit cocky in this story and quickly meets his match, in fact, he’s not sure what to do with Claire because he’s never gotten torn up over a woman before. Same for Claire, she doesn’t want to want Rex. He’s everything she shouldn’t want, especially since he’s sworn off marriage.

I can’t recommend this story enough from the plot, setting, and characters—Guhrke hooked me in and I can only hope others will enjoy this as well. For fans of Julie Anne Long and Caroline Linden.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Google+Tweet about this on TwitterPin on PinterestShare on FacebookEmail to someone

3 Comments

  1. I enjoy Laura’s books immensely!! I’m happy to say I got the book yesterday. I like her heroines. They aren’t TSTL. 🙂

  2. love her books

  3. not my kind of book

Would love to hear from you.

%d bloggers like this: