web analytics

Review & Giveaway ❤️ What a Difference a Duke Makes by Lenora Bell

March 27, 2018

Win a print copy of WHAT A DIFFERENCE A DUKE MAKES, the first book in Lenora Bell’s School For Dukes series. Entering is as easy as leaving a comment. Winner will be listed here. Good luck!

UPDATE (4/2): The winner is LSUREADER

Congrats! Please email me at contact at smittenbybooks dot com with your snail mail address to collect your book. Also, don’t forget to include the title in your email. You have 3 weeks claim your prize.

**US residents only 

what a difference a duke makes lenora bell

Wanted: Governess for duke’s unruly children
Edgar Rochester, Duke of Banksford, is one of the wealthiest, most powerful men in England, but when it comes to raising twins alone, he knows he needs help. The only problem is the children have chased away half the governesses in London. Until the clever, bold, and far-too-enticing Miss Mari Perkins arrives.

Lost: One heart to an arrogant duke
Mari knows how to wrap even the most rebellious children around her finger. But their demanding, wickedly handsome father? He won’t be quite so easy to control. And there’s something else she can’t seem to command. Her heart. The foolish thing beats so wildly every time the duke is near.

Found: A forbidden passion neither can deny
As his employee, Mari is strictly off-limits. But what if she’s the one breaking all his rules? In the game of governess versus duke, how can Edgar maintain his defenses when the only thing he wants to do is let the tempting beauty win . . .?


Release Date: Mar 27, 2018
Series: School For Dukes
Book: 1
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Books
Price: $5.99


 

Mary Poppins meets Jane Eyre equals a hero to swoon for and a heroine who’s got way more than a spoonful of sugar.

Bell’s first book to her second series with Avon is filled with all some of the things that make this author’s books great – secrets, fire-filled heroines, and of course, Dukes!  From Mari’s arrival in London, to her devious, but intelligent way of taking over as Edgar’s governess to his two children – this book starts on a whirlwind of activity and doesn’t let up.

I easily kept turning pages, anxious to watch the growing sexual tension between the duke and the governess as well as seeing how Mari would quell the rebellious nature of the duke’s twins, Michel and Adele.  There are interesting historical elements as well involving antiquities, and steam powered engines. What made this story super rich are the characters themselves and the slow burn of Mari and Edgar falling for one another.

I also love all the little Easter eggs from Mary Poppins and Jane Eyre, and what made them perfect is they fit the characters so well.  Not to mention a certain female sister reminds me very much of an adventuring swashbuckler who uses a whip.  There are more Easter eggs where those came from. You’ll just have to jump right in and read to learn more.

My only hesitance on the book was the wrap felt a little too neat and tidy. Mainly with Mari’s external conflicts, everything was wrapped up in a nice bundle more forced than flowing. I was able to except it, but really hoped for something more than road less traveled than obvious. 

Overall, this is one series I can’t wait to continue. For readers who love Sarah MacLean and Maya Rodale.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

10 Comments

  1. Lenora Bell would be a new author to me! Thank you for the opportunity!

  2. I haven’t read any of Lenora Bell’s books yet, but I always take note of books that feature a Duke!

  3. Thanks for the giveaway. The governess trope is a good one.

  4. You had me at Mary Poppins meets Jane Eyre! This sounds good. Thanks for the entry.

    Denise

  5. I read how the duke was won by Lenora before and totally loved her writing

  6. Thanks for sharing. I enjoy Lenora’s books. 🙂

  7. Sounds good. Count me in.

  8. Lenora Bell is a new author to me. This book sounds fantastic. Can’t wait to read it. Thanks for the chance.

  9. I like the premise and the cover is gorgeous! Thanks for the chance!

  10. I am intrigued with a plot that mixes Jane Eyre and Mary Poppins.

%d bloggers like this: