web analytics

Review & Giveaway ❤️ Wicked and the Wallflower by Sarah MacLean

June 18, 2018

I absolutely LOVED this book! It deserves every single star Landra gave it. And for that reason I’m giving away a digital copy of WICKED AND THE WALLFLOWER.

Comment to enter to win.

The winner is LINDA MURTHA

Congrats Linda! Please email me at contact at smittenbybooks dot com to collect your book. Also, don’t forget to include the title in your email and the retailer you’d like it from. You have 3 weeks claim your prize.

wicked and the wallflower sarah maclean

When Wicked Comes Calling . . .

When a mysterious stranger finds his way into her bedchamber and offers his help in landing a duke, Lady Felicity Faircloth agrees—on one condition. She’s seen enough of the world to believe in passion, and won’t accept a marriage without it.

The Wallflower Makes a Dangerous Bargain . . .

Bastard son of a duke and king of London’s dark streets, Devil has spent a lifetime wielding power and seizing opportunity, and the spinster wallflower is everything he needs to exact a revenge years in the making. All he must do is turn the plain little mouse into an irresistible temptress, set his trap, and destroy his enemy.

For the Promise of Passion . . .

But there’s nothing plain about Felicity Faircloth, who quickly decides she’d rather have Devil than another. Soon, Devil’s carefully laid plans are in chaos and he must choose between everything he’s ever wanted . . . and the only thing he’s ever desired.


Release Date: Jun 19, 2018
Series: Bareknuckle Bastards
Book: 1
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Books
Price: $6.99



This is the book I’ve been waiting for. 

This book is like that feeling you get when a crescendo occurs at the climax of a great song, the awesome action sequence of a great movie, or the thrill of roller coaster ride. Every time I think of this book, my heart swells. I stayed up all night reading this, until two in the morning, and didn’t quite finish. I went to sleep and woke well rested and filled with renewed energy. The healing power of a good romance book is so true. I won’t lie I plan on reading it at least three more times. If not more.

The last time I felt this way I was reading The Hating Game by Sally Thorne or What I Did For A Duke by Julie Anne Long. This book has given me all the feels and gripped me tight. I fell in love with the hero, the heroine, the villain, and the secondary characters who each deserve their own story. Let’s start with all the things I love. First and foremost was the hero, Devil. The last time a devil in snared my heart he was in Stephanie Lawrence first Cynster book. This Devil has won me over even more than Lauren’s incarnation. The Devil of MacLean’s London is a breed of alpha male that can only dreamed about. And what a fantastic dream he is. He’s tough, brash, and a man few would dare to cross. He’s loyal, empowering, and owns his kingdom with an iron fist. His heroine completely brings him to his knees. There is nothing quite as pleasing as a woman who can bring a man to his knees.

The nightingale again. Whit didn’t trust him with this woman.

And perhaps he shouldn’t.

The pull of the muscles around his lips was unfamiliar. A smile. He couldn’t remember the last time he’d smiled. This strange woman had summoned it, like a sorceress.

Speaking of heroine wins, Felicity is #HeroineGoals. This woman can pick locks. A member of the ton who can pick locks is insane. I love how brave she is. How bold, brash, and equal to our hero. She does take risks that are crazy and stupid, but that made me love and relate to her even more. She’s a little naïve, but eager to become more than who she is. In ways she reminded me of… me. Growing up I straddled the world of the upper middle class and the hard worker blue collar class, that borderline on poor. Felicity finds admiration for those hard workers, including our hero, and a sense of freedom she’s never known. In the same instance she also craves the attention and appreciation of those from her own social class, leading her to make some tough choices that as a reader I want to read multiple times.

The truth. That she wanted the life she’d been promised. She wanted to be a part of it again. And if she couldn’t have that, which, frankly she knew she couldn’t — she was not a fool, after all—shewanted more than a consolation of a marriage. That was the problem with Felicity. She’d always wanted more than she could have.

This book is all shadows, and dark edges. Readers get taken to the dark places, the ones author’s usually shy away from. Sure, there’s some ballroom visits, a few parties, but for the most part this book takes place in the city underground the underbelly of London and it weaves perfectly into the magical MacLean universe the author has already created with her previous series.

In the land of keeper historical romance novels, Wicked and the Wallflower tops my list. This is the book, the #devilinthedark. I highly recommend for readers who enjoy Courtney Milan, Julia Quinn, and Mackenzies era – Jennifer Ashley. This is the book you won’t be able to put down, not for chocolate, sleep…

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

25 Comments