web analytics

Review ❤️ It Takes Two by Jenny Holiday

June 26, 2018

it-takes-two-jenny-holiday

All’s fair in love and war

Wendy Liu should be delighted to be her best friend’s maid of honor. But after years spent avoiding the bride’s brother – aka the boy who once broke her heart – she’s now trapped with him during an endless amount of wedding festivities. Luckily she’s had time to perfect her poker face, and engaging Noah Denning in a little friendly competition might just prove that she’s over him for good…
 
Noah Denning is determined to make his little sister’s wedding memorable. But it seems Wendy is trying to outdo him at every turn. Challenging each other was always something he and Wendy did right, so when she proposes they compete to see who can throw the best bachelor or bachelorette party in Sin City, Noah takes the bait – and ups the stakes. Because this time around, he wants Wendy for keeps. And when you’re fighting for love, all bets are off.


Release Date: Jun 26, 2018
Series: Bridesmaids Behaving Badly
Book: 2
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: Grand Central
Imprint: Forever
Price: $5.99


 

The second in Holiday’s Bridesmaids Behaving Badly series is a great multicultural romance and the element of weddings that enhances the storyline.

This is my first Holiday book experience, and I went into it pleasantly surprised. Nothing about this story really wowed me out of my socks, but it did have a wide cast of characters, some fantastic jet-setting, and a best friend’s older brother trope that I’m sucker for.

Let’s start off with what I liked. The heroine, Wendy. She’s career focused, constantly looking out for herself and big on staying off the matrimonial radar.  I love her backstory and the rich details that shape who she is. From her loyalty to her friends, to the deep-seated crush she’s always had on her BFF Jane’s older brother. The motivations and her actions are super relatable and it was easy to like Wendy, to root for her.

The hero, Noah, is a hot mess in his own right. With the super protective instincts warring with an attraction he’s always tried to fight towards Wendy, his little sister’s upcoming nuptials are going to turn into a hot mess. He was easy to love though too. I wanted him to get the girl, if he could wake up and smell the attraction being mutual.

The race to the wedding, co-hosted bachelor and bachelorette parties, bridal dress shopping, and all the other things force some much-needed proximity between these two and provide plenty of fodder for sexual tension as well as comedic moments. For a series book, this story worked perfect as a standalone I didn’t feel lost or confused by what was happening.

My biggest turn off was the time jumps from past to present. I felt they existed because the characters didn’t have enough conflict to carry them through the story. Though, some readers may enjoy the snippets to Noah and Wendy’s teenage years and what brought them to the people they are presently in the story. Both hero and heroine made a lot of decisions in those earlier years that affected who they ended up being.

Overall, this book is a nice urban city contemporary with plenty of laughs, chapter hooks to keep the pages turning, and I’m interested to see how the series turns out. For readers who enjoy Jessica Lemmon, Tracy Anne Warren’s Grayson Series, or Lauren Layne.

~ Landra

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

One Comment

  1. loved the review

%d bloggers like this: