web analytics

Review ❤️ The Duke That I Marry by Cathy Maxwell

November 30, 2018
0 comments

the duke that i marry cathy maxwell

Once upon a time there were three young ladies who, despite their fortunes, had been on the marriage mart a bit too long. They were known as “the Spinster Heiresses” . . .

Is it wrong for a woman to want more?

Not if she is a Spinster Heiress. They do not settle. Any young miss would be very lucky to find herself promised to a man like the Duke of Camberly. However, Miss Willa Reverly has watched her friends marry for love. Camberly may be the prize of the season, but she will not be “sold” to any man. She wants his devotion or she wants nothing at all.

When is a Marriage of Convenience inconvenient?

Newly named to the ducal title, Matthew Addison is determined to discover the secrets behind Mayfield, the bankrupt estate he has inherited. He doesn’t have time to coddle a headstrong heiress who is determined to ditch him over something as silly as “love.” Little does he know that his questions will place her in jeopardy. Now he must do what he must to save them both.

Could it be that in running from danger they might be racing headlong into a truly unexpected fate: falling in love?


Release Date: Nov 27, 2018
Series: The Spinster Heiresses
Book: 3
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Books
Price: $6.99



Maxwell’s finale to The Spinsters Club series goes out with a bang!

This is my first Cathy Maxwell historical. Yes, I can hear the gasps echo across the internet. I’ve heard of the author, have even met her, but never picked up one of her books before. Seeing some of the reviews and comments about the earlier books in this series caught my eye and I decided to give this one a chance. I’m glad I did. On a side note, I can happily say that Avon publishers a growing list of Historical Romance Authors that I enjoy. Maxwell ‘s name will be added.

Now to the good stuff… the book opening with a fabulous jilting. That’s right, our hero, Matt the Duke of Camberly, gets a letter from his bride-to-be, Willa that says she’s through with him. Naturally, this is right after Camberly’s grandmother tells him the truth about the estate going bankrupt. It’s all sordid, there’s some blackmail, and our dearest duke has to marry Willa or there will be no chance of anything.

Willa wants something more from life… really she wants what her friends got in the previous books, true love and a successful, happy marriage. What’s good for her friends is certainly good for her. When she ‘won’ the duke, in the previous book, she expected him to give her a smidge of attention and instead he took off for his estate. Fast forward to the day before the wedding, did I mention that, and she decides to jilt him. This woman has some brass ta-ta’s and I love her for it. She’s also got spunk and daring for days, though she’s hidden these parts of her away for most of her life. And, a powerful attraction for our man, Camberly.

Yep, you guessed it… she still marries him. Though the ensuing marriage is fraught with an interesting wedding night, temptation of the nekkid body kind, jealousy towards a previous paramour, kidnapping, a whorehouse adventure, and the twist I kind of saw coming, but really wished hadn’t happened.

I really enjoyed Willa. She is so fierce for being a small, petite thing. Her independence and eagerness to join into the fray endeared her to me quickly. Camberly, he’s a bit aloof at times, but he’s also kind and nice, which works because no hero is perfect. This story also has an excellent relationship build. Sure both characters are fiercely attracted to one another, but Maxwell did a fantastic job of showing a marriage of convenience grow into something more. Their relationship conflict is driven by internal goals and fears, though every romance has this, these characters read with a fresh take.

The plot is definitely filled with plenty of intrigue plus a good dose of twists and turns that kept my writer brain guessing. Definitely, a good mystery element, so if you like a little case of who-done-it, this is the story for you. 

Overall, this is a perfect read to wrap up the month before digging into those Christmas romances. For readers who enjoy Lynsay Sands or Sophie Jordan.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

Would love to hear from you.

%d bloggers like this: