web analytics

Review ❤️ 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne

January 30, 2019

99 percent mine sally thorne

Crush (n.): a strong and often short-lived infatuation, particularly for someone beyond your reach…

Darcy Barrett has undertaken a global survey of men. She’s travelled the world, and can categorically say that no one measures up to Tom Valeska, whose only flaw is that Darcy’s twin brother Jamie saw him first and claimed him forever as his best friend. Despite Darcy’s best efforts, Tom’s off limits and loyal to her brother, 99%. That’s the problem with finding her dream man at age eight and peaking in her photography career at age twenty—ever since, she’s had to learn to settle for good enough.

When Darcy and Jamie inherit a tumble-down cottage from their grandmother, they’re left with strict instructions to bring it back to its former glory and sell the property. Darcy plans to be in an aisle seat halfway across the ocean as soon as the renovations start, but before she can cut and run, she finds a familiar face on her porch: house-flipper extraordinaire Tom’s arrived, he’s bearing power tools, and he’s single for the first time in almost a decade.

Suddenly Darcy’s considering sticking around to make sure her twin doesn’t ruin the cottage’s inherent magic with his penchant for grey and chrome. She’s definitely not staying because of her new business partner’s tight t-shirts, or that perfect face that’s inspiring her to pick up her camera again. Soon sparks are flying—and it’s not the faulty wiring. It turns out one percent of Tom’s heart might not be enough for Darcy anymore. This time around, she’s switching things up. She’s going to make Tom Valeska 99 percent hers.


Release Date: Jan 29, 2019
Heat Level: Sensual
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: William Morrow
Price: $10.99


 

The same and yet not.

All right, I am a huge fan of Thorne’s debut, The Hating Game. It was my favorite read of 2018, I read it four times. So naturally I had to read and review this story too. Let’s say it falls into the really enjoyed it category and I’ll probably read it a second time, just to savor the moment. Except I learned two things, one I really enjoy Thorne’s writing style. Two, comparing a book to another book when they are completely different is not exactly fair.

So, I’m going to try this from a different approach. Did I like the story? Yes. Would I read it again? Yes.

The characters are fresh with a hero who’s got the body of an Alpha, but is really just a teddy bear. Then there’s Darcy. Of course this story is told from a first person POV. There’s a depth of character in the heroine, Darcy that I can relate to. She’s a gal who’s gotten tough because to be anything else would make her the same weak little girl she was as a child. A girl with a weak heart.

Darcy and Tom both hide a lot of scars. So not only is the hero her brother’s best friend, but the baggage is metric ton size. Her weak heart, his poor background and need to prove himself, her desire to find purpose again and his concerns of never being enough. Weeding through it is a windy, twisting path that only Thorne could navigate. This is where things got tricky for me. There is a lot of contradiction between the characters, with what they say and do. I also found Darcy’s constant need to flirt with her health, and take unnecessary risks annoying.

There are some great secondary characters, even the workers and Thorne really knows how to craft them. But that was my final hold up – Darcy’s relationship with her brother. Now, let it be said I have two children, close in age, much like the twins in this story. These two are the best of friends and the worst of enemies on a good day. Maybe that’s why the childish behavior Darcy de-evolves to around her brother annoys the bejeezus out of me. To the point, I wanted to send both of them to their room because the brother doesn’t let up either. Of course, some would say the author is doing their job if they can evoke a large amount of emotions from a reader. Outside of this setting, pacing are all spot on.

Overall, there are plenty of laughs, some hijinks, a fabulous brother’s best friend romance trope, and ultimately an HEA. Thorne definitely displays some chops for creating romance narratives in the first person that grip on and hold tight. As well as voice that is unique in its own right, even if not my favorite. For readers who enjoyed The Hating Game or Alexa Martin.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: