web analytics

Review Death by Committee by Alexis Morgan

January 31, 2019

death by committee alexis morgan

When Abby McCree suddenly inherits her favorite relative’s property in small town Snowberry Creek, Washington, she soon realizes that the ramshackle home comes with strings attached—one of which is tied to a dead body!

After a rough divorce, Abby McCree only wants to stitch up her life and move on. But other loose ends appear after her elderly Aunt Sybil passes away, leaving Abby to tend to a rundown estate, complete with a slobbery Mastiff of questionable pedigree and a sexy tenant who growls more than the dog. As Abby gets drawn into a tight-knit quilting guild, she makes a twisted discovery—Aunt Sybil’s only known rival is buried in her backyard!

Despite what local detectives say, Abby refuses to accept that her beloved aunt had anything to do with the murder. While navigating a busy social calendar and rediscovering the art of quilting, she launches an investigation of her own to clear Aunt Sybil’s name and catch the true culprit. The incriminating clues roll in, yet Abby can’t help but wonder—can she survive her new responsibilities in Snowberry Creek and still manage to patch together a killer’s deadly pattern without becoming the next victim?


Release Date: Jan 22, 2019
Series: An Abby McCree Mystery
Book: 1
Publisher: Kensington
Price: $4.99


 

Abby McCree has inherited her Aunt Sybil’s large Victorian home in Snowberry Creek, Washington. Along with her aunt’s house, she also finds herself taking Sybil’s place on various projects and committees in the community. While fixing up the grounds of her inherited property, Abby and her handsome tenant,Tripp Blackstone, discover the dead body of Sybil’s longtime rival. Dolly Cahill is a snowbird who hadn’t been seen in months. She had a very heated and public argument with Sybil and then friends assumed Dolly had headed for warmer climates. However, now Sybil is the prime suspect in Dolly’s murder and it’s up to Abby to find the real killer and restore her late aunt’s good name.

The book does a good job of balancing the backstory of the main characters and telling the current story, which is especially welcome in the first book of a new series. The reader gets to know Abby, Tripp, and others gradually without too much information overload at the beginning. Abby is also getting to know her aunt’s good friends Glenda, Jean, and Louise as she investigates Dolly’s death. The reader really only gets to know Glenda, who plays a large role in this book. The local chief of police, Gage Logan, is a good guy and I liked that he is portrayed as intelligent and honest and also accepts help from Abby and Tripp.

The book is evenly paced and cozy without being too cutesy. There is more than one suspect in Dolly’s murder and because Abby hasn’t been able to spend a lot of time with aunt recently, there is even some doubt that maybe she didn’t know her aunt as well as she thought she did, which adds some intrigue to the mystery. Having the main suspect be someone who has already passed away is a unique twist for a cozy as well.

It quickly becomes obvious that Tripp will become the love interest for Abby. The two have chemistry, but the author doesn’t rush their relationship. The Quilting Guild and quilts play a large role in the story, but not a lot of details about quilting are shared. Also, the book is supposed to take place in Washington state, but there isn’t a real sense of place and Snowberry Creek is just a generic small town. However, these are things that could be developed in the future. I like the main characters and would be interesting in reading future books to get to know more about Abby and and the other residents of the town. Fans of Elizabeth Craig or Erika Chase will enjoy this start to a fun new series.

~ Christine

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: