web analytics

Review ❤️ Governess Gone Rogue by Laura Lee Guhrke

January 29, 2019

governess gone rogue laura lee guhrke

Dear Lady Truelove . . .

My twin brother and I need a new mother, though Papa insists he’ll never marry again. Must be nice, brainy, and fond of cats . . .

Lady Truelove may be London’s most famous advice columnist, but James St. Clair, the Earl of Kenyon, knows his wild young sons need a tutor, not a new mother. They need a man tough enough to make his hellions tow the line, and James is determined to find one.

Miss Amanda Leighton, former schoolteacher and governess, knows she has all the qualifications to be a tutor. And while female tutors are unheard of, Amanda isn’t about to lose the chance at her dream job because of pesky details like that. If Lord Kenyon insists on hiring a man, then she has only one option . . .

Jamie isn’t sure what to make of his new employee, until he realizes the shocking truth—beneath the ill-fitting suits, his boys’ tutor is a woman. An unconventional, outspoken, thoroughly intriguing woman. Despite Amanda’s deception, he can’t dismiss her when his boys are learning so much. Yet Jamie, too, is learning surprising lessons—about desire, seduction, and passionate second chances . . .


Release Date: Jan 29, 2019
Series: Dear Lady Truelove
Book: 3
Heat Level: Sensual
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Books
Price: $6.99


 

Timely, moving, and oh so romantic.

Guhrke ensnared me again with the heroine posing as a man. Sure I’ve read about heroine’s dressing up as men to sneak into Duke’s homes for journalist purposes or to venture into dens of debauchery, or even to start up infamous gaming hells. But… posing as a man to gain a tutor position? Not lately.

Add in a widower, Lord Jamie Kenyon. Sure he’s a lord, but a black sheep one. He’s also a barrister and an MP, elected to the House of Commons. This book breaks all the cardinal rules of a historical. Sure he’s titled, but he could care less about the title. He’s not even in the Lords, but rooting for the lower-classes and getting elected to represent them. I don’t know how common that was back in the day, but I’m eager to know more. Outside of all that, this Jamie started out so cold, frigid, but I rapidly warmed to him. By the end I was tearing up because, I can’t say details without spoiling things, but he does make the ultimate sacrifice a man in his position could make. It’s definitely swoon-worthy. I highlighted several lines in those last couple chapters. He’d make Lady Truelove proud.

Back to the heroine, Amanda Seton… no, Leighton. Of course she has a scandal, and she in dire straits. She’s also got a degree from Cambridge and is a smashing teacher. Don’t take my word for it, read the book. She’s tough, determined, and I love how she owns every bit of who she is. No making exceptions for her mistakes. Amanda is a class act and her act puts her on a path to winning over a set of hellions that rival my own children. There are some hijinks, pranks, and modern science put to work.

In the past I’ve read Guhrke novels with a bit more heat. This one is a little tamer, and it fit both the characters. The story is also more heartfelt, with a bit of a slow burn as the romance takes a tiny bit of a backseat. Because before hero and heroine can really come together, the hero’s sons demand every bit of the attention, the secondary characters of Colin and Owen, who bring a fresh take to this story. Mischievous scamps who act up in an attempt to gain attention, even trying to rope Lady Truelove into helping in the process, which gets the whole book started.

Overall, I fell in love with the characters, rooted for Jamie and Amanda to come together. My only caveats are that this might not be a book for those who like edge of your seats high conflict or for those who enjoy steamier reads. But, if you want a book off the beaten path, a historical in the vein of Maya Rodale and Eva Leigh, this is one you should snatch up right away.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

2 Comments

  1. I love this series

    denise

  2. This sounds like an amazing book; I’ve put it on my wish list!

%d bloggers like this: