web analytics

Review ❤️ Fumbled by Alexa Martin

May 2, 2019

fumbled alexa martin

Single-mother Poppy Patterson moved across the country when she was sixteen and pregnant to find a new normal. After years of hard work, she’s built a life she loves. It may include a job at a nightclub, weekend soccer games, and more stretch marks than she anticipated, but it’s all hers, and nobody can take that away. Well, except for one person.

T.K. Moore, the starting wide receiver for the Denver Mustangs, dreamt his entire life about being in the NFL. His world is football, parties, and women. Maybe at one point he thought his future would play out with his high school sweetheart by his side, but Poppy is long gone and he’s moved on.  

When Poppy and TK cross paths in the most unlikely of places, emotions they’ve suppressed for years come rushing back. But with all the secrets they never told each other lying between them, they’ll need more than a dating playbook to help them navigate their relationship.


Release Date: Apr 23, 2019
Series: Playbook
Book: 2
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: Penguin Group
Imprint: Berkley
Price: $9.99


 

Alexa Martin’s follow-up to her debut proves she’s here to stay!

Before we go any farther, let’s link back to my review last year of Intercepted. I gave it five stars. The story won me over with the characters and their heroine, Marlee’s distinctive voice.

With Fumbled, she does it again. Enter Poppy Patterson. Yep, double P and all sorts of fabulous. She’s a single mom, who employs a swear jar at home, who likes DIY projects, and is curvy in all the right places. She also has a serious soft spot for the mother of her child; football wide receiver of the gods, TK Moore. For those who read Martin’s first book, they’ll remember TK. He was sweet and quiet, but a huge supporter of Marlee and Gavin.  I know I am name dropping like crazy, even more reason you should read book one.

But, if you’d rather not, it’s okay. Fumbled stands on its own extremely well. There are plenty of new supporting characters. New football wives to know and love rivals and haters to despise, and even a foul-mouthed sports agent named Donny. Though Donny was in the first book, I’m glad he came back to be a part of the drama.

Did I mention there is a ton of drama? This is one of those stories with the secret baby trope. I am not a fan of the secret baby trope. Typically I steer far away, but in this instance everything clicked and worked. There is some intense chemistry between Poppy and TK; they crackle with life from the first page.

Other things that made this book surprisingly good: No hero POV and Poppy’s distinct voice. I really like getting into the hero’s head, but there are some spots in this book that took TK to a bit of a dark place. I was happy to stay away from the dark place and to see him through Poppy’s eyes where she could compare the TK present day to the TK she knew in high school. There’s a big difference, one that helps drive the conflict, and still keeps things from too out of hand.

Speaking of TK. Let’s talk about this football god with a man bun and more money than most can dream of. He’s super sweet, sexy, and really hit a lot of buttons. And, he never reacts the way one expects. Yep, I found myself as surprised as the heroine. He’s supportive of her rules, her parenting, and even backs her up when his mother acts the crazy harpy. There’s a lot to unravel, but if you are a fan of second chance romances, secret babies or even some Real Housewives lifestyle stuff this book is for you.

For fans of Julie Brannagh and Jaci Burton.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: