web analytics

Review ❤️ The Lady’s Guide to Celestial Mechanics by Olivia Waite

July 1, 2019
0 comments

the-ladys-guide-to-celestial-mechanics-olivia-waite

As Lucy Muchelney watches her ex-lover’s sham of a wedding, she wishes herself anywhere else. It isn’t until she finds a letter from the Countess of Moth, looking for someone to translate a groundbreaking French astronomy text, that she knows where to go. Showing up at the Countess’ London home, she hoped to find a challenge, not a woman who takes her breath away.

Catherine St Day looks forward to a quiet widowhood once her late husband’s scientific legacy is fulfilled. She expected to hand off the translation and wash her hands of the project—instead, she is intrigued by the young woman who turns up at her door, begging to be allowed to do the work, and she agrees to let Lucy stay. But as Catherine finds herself longing for Lucy, everything she believes about herself and her life is tested.

While Lucy spends her days interpreting the complicated French text, she spends her nights falling in love with the alluring Catherine. But sabotage and old wounds threaten to sever the threads that bind them. Can Lucy and Catherine find the strength to stay together or are they doomed to be star-crossed lovers?


Release Date: Jun 25, 2019
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Impulse
Price: $3.99



Waite’s debut is a sensual, emotional romance that inspires.

My first historical F/F romance and one I enjoyed a lot. LGBTQ romance often comes with this stigma of being highly sexualized, and crude. I am here to say that this book is the exact opposite. It grows on the tradition of Avon Historical Queer Romance being tasteful with fabulous storytelling and the depiction of a world where non-straight men and women exist without constant persecution due to their sexual preferences. I will say, that’s what I love the most that the majority of the conflict is based on something besides fear of being discovered together.

Our intrepid heroines are none other than Lucy Muchelney’s, an astronomer looking to make a name for herself, in a place in time where women aren’t recognized for scientific discoveries. She finds a patron and friend in Catherine St. Day, Countess of Moth, a widow who’s husband worked closely with Lucy’s father through letters. Both were brilliant minds in the field, but it’s Lucy who’s the true brains. When Lucy is rejected, by the very scientific society that her father and Lady Moth’s husband were a part of, the two ladies band together against the society to launch their own project.

For Lucy and Catherine there is attraction, but no instant lust. This is romance that grows from the physical as well as the emotional. The story itself didn’t pray on that common idea where one or two of the characters were ashamed of who they were. No, this story allowed the characters to own their sexuality and allow their interest to grow from mutual respect and admiration. Both ladies have a journey of romance and discovery. There is a fabulous amount of growth as these two women learn to identify who they truly are without other people in their lives directing them. For Catherine, she’s come from a horrible marriage. For Lucy, it’s a previous lover and the shadow of her father hanging over her. I enjoyed seeing the story unfold and delighted when things turned out opposite from what I expected.

I’d like to mention that this book successfully navigated a lot of challenges and problematic elements we see in other books: heroines or heroes in a position where their love interest has power over them, the concept of consent; which is well represented and appreciated. My only hesitation with the story is that there are times when the same internal issues crop up over and over, repetitive internal dialogues.

Overall, this is a good read and perfect for Waite’s debut. I eagerly await the next story in the series and hope it continues down this fabulous path. Perfect for readers who enjoy Cat Sebastian, Courtney Milan, or Heather Snow.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Feel Free to Share :)
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Pin on Pinterest
Pinterest
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Email to someone
email

Would love to hear from you.

%d bloggers like this: