web analytics

Review ❤️ Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert

March 11, 2021

act-your-age-eve-brown-talia-hibbert

Eve Brown is a certified hot mess. No matter how hard she strives to do right, her life always goes horribly wrong. So she’s given up trying. But when her personal brand of chaos ruins an expensive wedding (someone had to liberate those poor doves), her parents draw the line. It’s time for Eve to grow up and prove herself—even though she’s not entirely sure how…

Jacob Wayne is in control. Always. The bed and breakfast owner’s on a mission to dominate the hospitality industry and he expects nothing less than perfection. So when a purple-haired tornado of a woman turns up out of the blue to interview for his open chef position, he tells her the brutal truth: not a chance in hell. Then she hits him with her car—supposedly by accident. Yeah, right.

Now his arm is broken, his B&B is understaffed, and the dangerously unpredictable Eve is fluttering around, trying to help. Before long, she’s infiltrated his work, his kitchen—and his spare bedroom. Jacob hates everything about it. Or rather, he should. Sunny, chaotic Eve is his natural-born nemesis, but the longer these two enemies spend in close quarters, the more their animosity turns into something else. Like Eve, the heat between them is impossible to ignore… and it’s melting Jacob’s frosty exterior.



Release Date:
 Mar 9, 2021
Series: The Brown Sisters
Book: 3
Heat Level: Hot
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: Avon Books
Price: $10.99


The conclusion to Hibbert’s Brown Sisters trilogy officially gave me all the feels!

Eve Brown is… too much. At least that’s what she’s been told. She’s always the person doing things. Even if she doesn’t follow through with all those things. From abandoned careers to failed attempts at college degrees, Eve is constantly looking for the next thing that will spark her interest. Her next success. Though she believes that once she starts to love something, she’ll fail at it.

In the midst of running from another debacle and a threat from her parents that if she doesn’t get serious about a job and a career she’ll be cut off, Eve finds herself in the small town of Skybriar. The trip takes her to Castell Cottage, a bed and breakfast where she meets our grumpy hero, Jacob Wayne.

Shenanigans ensure, Eve-style ones. They involve rain, a wet t-shirt, some yelling, and a car accident. Suffice to say, after all of this Eve ends up staying with Jacob and working as a cook. Of course, while this helps Jacob it ruins his calm, orderly life. For a person with autism that can make things difficult.

I loved these characters. Eve with her ever-present optimism, her charge-forth attitude, and her love of music. She’s got tons of moxy and this interesting way of seeing the world that I couldn’t help but want her to succeed. I’ll admit, at first the character annoyed me a bit. Running, not talking. Always saying the wrong things, but as I continued to get to know Eve, I realized all those things are mechanisms for coping, surviving. She’s really an inspiration.

On the flip side there is Jacob. He is the biggest jerk, with good reasons, but still his grumpy hits epic heights at certain points. Though I love seeing him soften up to Eve, to watch them fall for each other in this awkward, haphazard way. Because when Jacob falls it’s forever and always.

The setting and pacing create this lovely little corner of the world for Eve and Jacob to succumb to each other. Good things always come crashing down though, and there is a great black moment along with equal measure of groveling. For fans of the earlier books, all the previous characters make appearances, which I loved. Even if this is the first Talia Hibbert book you pick up, don’t worry. Eve’s story stands on its own and can easily be enjoyed without reading the other books.

Overall, this is a must read as we start to wrap up winter. A delightful book that had me in tears, laughing, and my heart locked in a clench right up to the end. If the story makes my chest tight, then I know it’s a keeper. For readers who enjoy Jennifer Crusie or Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

~ Landra

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

Comments are closed.